Sweat, Tears, or the Sea

#15) Jump in the Ocean

It’s two in the morning. And it’s really cold. To me. Cause I’ve been running a reverse fever. Nothing big. Just a few half degrees under what most doctors would consider a normal temperature. I did tell them I always just run a bit colder then whats considered the average, but this is even a little colder then normal for me.

So I decided I was going to jump into the ocean. yup. At two in the morning. First, at midnight, I decided I was going to make a bucket list. That lovely, corny idea is really how this all started. And amongst my bucket list:

3. Kiss somebody new
7. Take a really nice portrait
11. Pretend to be a creative-writer-type in a coffee shop for a day (in progress ✓)
15. Jump in the ocean
22. Write someone a snail mail letter
23. Make someone’s day

And amongst my bucket list 15 definitely seemed like the right place to start. Anyways, everyone know that pancakes from the middle are by far the best.

So it’s two a.m. and it’s freezing and I’ve walked almost halfway around the sea wall adding to the corny list that now resides on my phone. And there are all these little stairs that cut out of the seawall at some points. So number fifteen was easy. Hid my backpack and jumped in.

Leave a comment